You must be 21 years old, a Wisconsin resident and not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law. You must provide proof that you have taken the required firearms training.How do I apply for a Wisconsin permit?
You can apply online with the Wisconsin Department of Justice: https://concealedcarry.doj.wi.gov/ccwonlineHow much does the permit cost?
$40, which covers the application fee and a background check.How long is the permit valid?
The permit is valid for 5 years.How do I renew my license?
90 days before your license expires the Wisconsin DOJ will mail a renewal form. You do not need to take another class. If you pass the background check, they will mail you a new permit within 21 days.Where can I get additional information?
No. A Wisconsin resident must have a Wisconsin permit in order to carry in Wisconsin. Out of state concealed carry permits issued to Wisconsin residents are not valid in Wisconsin.Can I take an on-line training course to get my Wisconsin permit?
No. On-line training courses do not satisfy Wisconsin training requirementsWhat kind of weapons can I carry with a concealed-carry license?
Handguns, electric weapons such as stun guns or Tasers, knives other than switchblade knives, and billy clubs. You can't carry a machine gun or a short-barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun. When carrying concealed, you must also carry a license and photo ID unless on your own property.Who may take the class?
Anyone may take the class including those who reside in other states and foreign nationals. However, you must meet certain state requirements to receive your permit.What should I bring to the class?
Your driver's license or state-issued ID.What states is my permit valid in?
See the map in the Classes tab or click on any state in this reciprocity map to see the states where that permit is honored.When I get my permit, should I carry a handgun?
Carrying a loaded gun is not meant to bring some excitement into your life. When you carry a concealed handgun, you take on an extra burden and a significant responsibility to yourself, your family and your community. You carry the means to protect life and deal out death. You will be held to a higher standard of conduct.
If you cannot accept this responsibility, adapt your lifestyle, and make a significant commitment to training, you should not carry a handgun. You will be a risk to yourself and those around you.When should I use a gun to defend myself?
If you ever shoot someone no matter how justified, your life as you know it is over. Don't ever do it unless it is the absolute last resort to save your life or the life of someone you care about.